thyssenkrupp
thyssenkrupp

thyssenkrupp

The thyssenkrupp Quarter comprises a compound of individual buildings embedded in a green, tree-covered carpet. The architects from Cologne and Paris grouped twelve buildings on a 17-hectare campus around a common centre with a large water pool and the “Avenue of the Worlds” with more than 200 trees from all over the world in a loose, urbanistic but clear structural order.

Consequently, the headquarters is also an architectural representation of the most important resources of the 21st century: knowledge and human competences. Its return to the Ruhr area is a clear commitment to the region in which thyssenkrupp has its roots. The company’s history began in Essen in 1811 with a small cast steel factory called Krupp and is now being perpetuated there.

With the decision to build a new corporate headquarters, thyssenkrupp also paved the way for new activities within the Group. In cooperation with the Fraunhofer Institute and the architects, an office concept was developed for the thyssenkrupp Quarter that meets the most diverse requirements for a modern workplace.

The new district is intended to promote innovation processes, enable concentrated individual working and teamwork as well as mobile working, ensure the easy integration of external parties and support formal and informal communication through a wide variety of rooms and spaces for meetings and conferences.

Implementation in the Quarter

The offices are distinguished by their optimal space management. By providing maximum transparency and flexibility, they also support communication among employees, making an important contribution to the implementation of the corporate culture.

ophelis made an impression with customised solutions; we were able to supply 4,000 cabinets and caddies for the thyssenkrupp Quarter; our individual solutions were precisely tailored to the requirements of the client and the architecture.

ophelis developed a special sliding-door cabinet for thyssenkrupp with artistically appealing, continuous handle strips that provide 100% access to the contents of the cabinet on both sides without dead space due to protruding doors.

Acoustic measures are indispensable to facilitating concentrated working and well-being in the office, particularly in the open structures of modern office environments All of the cabinets we supplied in the thyssenkrupp Quarter were also equipped in an acoustically effective manner. In addition, creatively customised solutions for integrated fire extinguisher cabinets and the most seamless cover panels for the cabinet ensembles involving a columnar conversion in the central areas were some of the challenges that had to be tackled on the premises.

Joint design: JSWD Architekten, Cologne and Chaix & Morel et associés, Paris
Planning: ECE, Hamburg
Photography: Christian Richters, thyssenkrupp

thyssenkrupp

thyssenkrupp

Das thyssenkrupp Quartier besteht aus einem Gefüge von Einzelgebäuden, eingebettet in einen grünen, baumbestandenen Teppich. In einer lockeren, städtebaulich aber eindeutigen Ordnungsstruktur gruppieren die Architekten aus Köln und Paris zwölf Gebäude auf einem 17 Hektar großen Campus um eine gemeinsame Mitte mit dem großen Wasserbecken und der „Allee der Welten“ mit über 200 Bäumen aus aller Welt.

Damit repräsentiert die Zentrale auch architektonisch die wichtigsten Ressourcen des 21. Jahrhunderts: Wissen und Humankompetenzen. Die Rückkehr ins Ruhrgebiet ist ein klares Bekenntnis zu der Region, in der thyssenkrupp seine Wurzeln hat. In Essen hat 1811 die Konzerngeschichte mit einer kleinen Gussstahlfabrik namens Krupp begonnen und wird jetzt dort fortgeschrieben.

Mit der Entscheidung für den Neubau der Konzernzentrale setzte thyssenkrupp auch ein Zeichen für neues Arbeiten innerhalb des Konzerns. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer Institut und den Architekten wurde für das thyssenkrupp Quartier ein Bürokonzept entwickelt, das unterschiedlichste Anforderungen an einen modernen Arbeitsplatz erfüllt.

Das neue Quartier soll die Innovationsprozesse fördern, konzentrierte Einzelarbeit und Teamarbeit sowie mobiles Arbeiten ermöglichen, eine einfache Einbindung von Externen sicherstellen und die formelle und informelle Kommunikation durch die unterschiedlichsten Räume und Flächenangebote für Besprechungen und Meetings unterstützt werden.

Die Umsetzung im Quartier

Die Büros zeichnen sich durch ein optimales Flächenmanagement aus. Außerdem unterstützen sie durch Schaffung größtmöglicher Transparenz und Flexibilität die Kommunikation zwischen den Mitarbeitern und leisten so einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Unternehmenskultur.

ophelis überzeugte mit individuellen Lösungen: Für das thyssenkrupp Quartier konnten wir 4000 Schränke und Caddys liefern – ausschlaggebend waren unsere individuellen Lösungen genau abgestimmt auf die Anforderungen des Kunden und der Architektur.

ophelis entwickelte für thyssenkrupp einen speziellen Schiebetürenschrank mit gestalterisch ansprechenden durchgehenden Griffleisten, der beidseitig 100% Zugriff auf den Schrankinhalt ohne toten Raum durch überstehende Türen bietet.

Gerade in den offenen Strukturen moderner Bürowelten sind akustische Maßnahmen unumgänglich, um konzentriertes Arbeiten und Wohlfühlen im Büro möglich zu machen. Auch im thyssenkrupp Quartier lieferten wir alle Schränke in akustisch wirksamer Ausstattung. Zusätzlich waren kreative Sonderlösungen für integrierte Feuerlöscherschränke und möglichst fugenarme Abdeckplatten für die Schrankensembles als Säulenumbau in den Mittelzonen Teil der anspruchsvollen Aufgabe, die es im Objekt zu lösen galt.

Gemeinsamer Entwurf: JSWD Architekten, Köln und Chaix & Morel et associés, Paris
Planung: ECE, Hamburg
Foto: Christian Richters, thyssenkrupp